Crown Cafe, Strand, Near Waterloo Bridge

Visited: 10th December 2010

Interior: While it may seem perfectly ordinary to many, I’ve come to love the tiled interior, sandwich counter and steamy windows of the classic London sandwich bar. There may be sentimental value as I had a strange feeling that my stepmother once took me here as a child when she was working at Bush House and allowed me to have a cake. However, the welcome was genuinely friendly. It was open after 6pm on a Friday evening as well which is more than many can say.

Food: I doubt the breakfasts would have been anything special here. However I had a cheese toasty and a decaff coffee and both of them were absolutely delicious. A nice lump of coleslaw on the side of my toasty and there I was, transported back to 1983 (when I would have preferred a cake really).

Leave a Reply

