Astral Cafe, Horseferry Rd, Westminster

Visited 9th January 2009

(the nearby Regency was my original aim but was full.)

Interior:

Pleasant simple tiled interior with nice black and white wooden tables and comfortable seats. A nice sign outside too. The only problem – and it’s not an insignificant one – is the lack of ventilation meaning that smell of deep fat frying is strong and remained attached to my hair and clothes in a way I had forgotten was possible since the smoking ban. The welcome was pleasant although the service far from smiley and gracious.

Food: I had a jacket with cheese and beans which was great;  even though it had been microwaved, the skin was pleasant to eat. I did notice that some other diners were given ‘caff salad’ with theirs. I didn’t really mind not having it, but I’m not quite sure why I didn’t get it. Tea was in a mug and a bright orange liquid of great substance.

Leave a Reply

