Bad Cafe: Pompidou Coffee Shop, Dean Street

Truly appalling food and service in otherwise attractive surroundings

Visited Tuesday 15th July 2008

Interior: A very nice, unpretentious, traditional feel to this place, wooden tables and chairs, pictures and plants made it a really genuinely enticing prospect.

Food: Horrendous. After a somewhat taxing conversation with the waitress, who really didn’t speak English (I have many synonyms, but it was hard to find one she understood), I was under the impression I’d ordered a panino on toasted brown bread with mozzarella and peppers but instead I was served stale (and possibly mouldy) toast, which I had to spit out, containing an unmelted fragment (pre-sliced) of unidentifiable and tasteless cheese and a tiny sprinkling of raw chopped green pepper. Even the tea had that metallic taste that sometimes occurs when the water is obtained from coffee machines which need a clean. I was charged 4.65 for this, of which I paid 3 pounds.

I did feel sorry for the waitress as she was clearly too intimidated to call someone with better English or let me speak to the kitchen myself, which in itself speaks of bad management, and it didn’t help that I was ordering off menu. But really, it takes a lot for me not to be able to finish something when I have the munchies, never mind actually spit it out into my napkin.

2 Responses to “Bad Cafe: Pompidou Coffee Shop, Dean Street”

  1. Ernesto Priego Says:

    I had no idea you had a blog! Yay!

  2. Charlie’s Cafe, St Paul’s Rd, N1 « Caffs Says:

    […] actually think of anything to say about it other than that the bread wasn’t mouldy (which isn’t a given).  Next time I think I’ll stick to […]

Leave a Reply

